個人檔案Ed's Great Place for a B...相片部落格清單 工具 說明
11月5日

Gone Phishing

Several years ago I signed up to Friendster, a site that claims you are never more than six steps away from any one in the world.  No doubt as the internet progresses, this claim will probably become true if it isn’t already.  Anyway, this site I signed up to and yet I still only have one friend on there (awww, no pity please as I don’t really use the site at all as I have better ways of staying in touch) and so I was a bit perturbed when a received an email the other day saying I’d just received a message from someone off Friendster.  I thought this was interesting as I’d never received a message, not even from my one friend.  So I went to investigate.
 
I had received a Friendster message from a girl called Rachel, and of course I had never met Rachel before and she had never met me.  Her message read like this:
 
Umm... HI!? Not sure what to say...you look interesting to me from your profile, please check out my profile and see what you think. I know there's not a TON of info about me there, but it should give you a basic idea. I'm in this area vacationing & visiting friends, so get back to me fast if you ARE interested at all. The fastest way to reach me is to send me a regular email at crazie_rachel@hotmail.com Tell me more about yourself, maybe we can meet soon? Thanks, Rachel
 
And so me being me and because I’m also a nice fellow, I thought I’d reply to her.  My reply read like this:
 
Hi Rachel,
 
What do you mean, I look interesting to you from my profile? Is that in a good way or a bad way? I guess it's a good way as you wouldn't have sent a message if it was bad!
Tell me more about yourself.
 
Ed
 
The next thing I know I’d received a second message from her that read:
 
Hey, I received your message. I am flattered that you responded! I do not want to sound like an easy girl, but I am looking to definitely become intimate with you once we get to spend some time together! I live really close so we could meet up whenever you want. Come check out my newest personal at
 
http://Imgoingkeepyoulotawayfromthissite.com (not the real URL) My profile is listed inside the site under "BackSideBabe". I decided to post my personal info (i.e. phone # and my personal email address) on this site for 3 simple reasons:
 
1) It's DISCREET
 
2) I never have to worry about being contacted by children since only adults are allowed in the site and
 
3) I know all the replies I receive THERE are genuine
 
Well thats about it for now, I really do hope to meet up with you...and let's
make it soon!
 
Talk later,
 
Rachel
 
Reading this a few questions came to mind: firstly I had never said I wanted to meet with this person and secondly why had she directed me to a site full of porn?  Thirdly, why the hell was I duped clicking on a random link sent to me by a random?  Curiosity I guess, but perhaps it was just stupidity.  By this point I had already googled “BackSideBabe” and had come back with several results, not related to Rachel as such, but a girl sending the same messages.  Then I decided to look at the message as a whole and noticed at the bottom of the message it read:
 
***The following is a requirement of this website: "If you are offended by adult material or are not of legal age to view such material, or if you simply would not like to hear from any members from this website, follow this link to be removed:"
 
“Right then” I thought “now I know I’ve been phished”.  This was in the knowledge that Rachel was indeed not real and probably some bloke sitting at his computer all day trying, in vain may I add, to get people to sign up for this site so I decided this was the perfect time to have a bit of fun (and waste a bit more of my time) by sending a nice message back to “her”, and this is it:
 
Rachel,
 
I was really excited that you returned my email, so swiftly as well.  I can certainly understand the reasons why you would want to post your pictures on this site.  "If it wasn't for those pesky kids I would've got away with this medalling scam".  However you might as well just tell me what benefits you get from other people signing up to this site.  Is it a couple of pounds here and there for every person who signs up?  Something even less perhaps?  I don't know, perhaps you could tell me.  Perhaps if you told me what you were getting out of this I could get in with the action as well, after all, I too am a bit short of cash at the moment.
 
Yet I do come to the conclusion you are selling yourself a little short; using someone else's website to make a little extra cash on the side.  If that picture of you I have seen is indeed a real picture of you then perhaps you should consider setting up a website of your own.  I can host the pages if you need them to be for just the mere price of £70/year.  As it happens I am also a photographer at the weekends, and so as you live locally I could do your photos for you as well.  Obviously for a small fee.  You and I could be millionaires by this time next year.  What do you think?
 
To be honest, as that's what I am, I feel insulted that someone would try to dupe me into signing up for a website that charges a stupid amount of money all so that you could get a small fee.  I, and sadly for you, would never lower myself to such levels nor degrade myself in such a way.
 
So Rachel, if that is indeed your really name, if you would still really like to meet up with me - and of course you should as we live so near to each other - then get back in touch so we can set up a real date.  Of course I would love to see some genuine photos so I know who I'm meeting.
 
Cheers,
 
Ed
 
I have yet to have a reply back to discuss this matter further, but I’ve had no bother from phishing now.  So if you see the women walking down the street, staring at the ground dragging her two feet just ask her why? 
 

"Rachel" or is it Barry?

I think the middle of this little song basically sums up this article.  The strange thing is I'm sure I've seen the girl featured in it before, but I have no idea where!

回應 (4)

請稍候...
很抱歉,您輸入的回應過長。請縮短您的回應。
您尚未輸入內容,請再試一次。
很抱歉,目前無法新增您的回應,請稍後再試。
若要新增回應,您的父母必須先給您權限。要求權限
您的家長已關閉回應功能。
很抱歉,目前無法刪除您的回應,請稍後再試。
您已超過每日回應上限次數,請於 24 小時後再試一次。
由於系統顯示您可能傳送垃圾郵件給其他使用者,因此您帳號中的回應功能已遭停用。 如果您認為自己帳號遭錯誤停用,請連絡 Windows Live 支援
請完成下列安全檢查,以完成回應。
您輸入的安全檢查字元必須與圖片或音訊中的字元相符。

若要新增回應,請以您的 Windows Live ID 登入 (若您使用 Hotmail、Messenger 或 Xbox LIVE,則您已擁有 Windows Live ID)。登入


沒有 Windows Live ID?註冊

匿名 的圖片
Candy_snow 撰寫:
Hey!!! I visit here all the time and I have nothing new to comment about.

Write a new blog now!!!!!!!!

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you!

Candy
11 月 15 日
匿名 的圖片
RaineBaby1 撰寫:
Hi!!! Thanks for dropping by my space and saying hi. You have some totally interesting blogs - better than some of the crap that some people write. I quite agree with your blog about "chav" talk, its my grandads pet subject as when he looks at my neice's space he can't understand a word she is saying! Your look-a-like pics are well funny! Take care. Luv xXRaineXx
11 月 8 日
匿名 的圖片
Candy_snow 撰寫:
Oo! Weird!

You know you said you don't know why you clicked on the random link from some random person? I clicked on your fake link before I read it.

It's like click turretes. http://www.thisisafakelink.com Oh my god!!! a link!!! I must click!!! I guess it's like being presented with bubble wrap. You have to pop it.

So. No luck with Rachel then? I'm sorry Ed. Maybe next time you and barry will remove all your barriers and be very happy together.

I do wonder where these Barry types get their pictures from. And if they are just stealing pictures of girls off here there and everwhere, has a barry stolen my picture? Am I being sent around the net at this very moment asking people to book into the nearest Travel inn?

Don't really want to think about it.

I do have this to say though. Good writing - it's very rare for a blog this long to be worth reading. And this one really was. *claps* *wonders how I'm still typing if my hands are clapping* *Notices third hand and screams*

Candy
11 月 7 日
匿名 的圖片
Tom 撰寫:
Now that is class, very funny reading. Have you ever read anything about the people that try and get one back at the Nigerian 419 fraudsters?

Maybe a project for "Gone Phishing 2"?
11 月 6 日

引用通告

此內容的引用通告是:
http://jimdybob.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!73B528137DE736E1!401.trak
引述這則內容的部落格